Video Game Music Role Playing Games (RPGs) Final Fantasy Final Fantasy Final Fantasy Forums Contact UFF Final Fantasy and RPG Fan Twitter News Feed RSS Final Fantasy News Feed Final Fantasy Final Fantasy Final Fantasy Forums UFFSite Staff Frequently Asked Questions Final Fantasy I Final Fantasy II Final Fantasy III Final Fantasy IV Final Fantasy V Final Fantasy VI Final Fantasy VII Final Fantasy VIII Final Fantasy IX Final Fantasy X Final Fantasy X-2 Final Fantasy XI Final Fantasy XII

FF7, 8, 9 and 10 all get chiptune albums next month

August 24, 2012

Square Enix Japan has confirmed that they're to release chiptune arrangement albums of the music from Final Fantasy VII, VIII, IX and X next month as part of the celebrations of the series' 25th anniversary, which is this December.

The 'SQ Chips' series of CDs has been going for a little while now but up until now has, as the name suggests, been a general depository of Square Enix chiptune mixes including Final Fantasy, Chrono Trigger, SaGa and others. These albums are the first in the series to focus on a single game or series.

The track lists for the first three albums have been released. Needless to say, we're excited for this.

Final Fantasy VII Chips
01 Opening ~ Bombing Mission
02 Those Who Fight ~ Fanfare
03 Turks’ Theme
04 Crazy Motorcycle
05 Cosmo Canyon
06 Those Who Fight Further
07 The Highwind Takes to the Sky
08 J-E-N-O-V-A
09 Birth of a God
10 Staff Roll

Final Fantasy VIII Chips
01 Liberi Fatali
02 Blue Fields
03 Don’t be Afraid ~ Force Your Way ~ The Winner
05 Ride On
06 The Man with the Machine Gun ~ Maybe I’m a Lion
07 Fisherman’s Horizon
08 The Castle
09 The Extreme
10 Ending Theme

Final Fantasy IX Chips
01 The Place I’ll Return To Someday
02 Beyond That Hill
03 Prima Vista Orchestra
04 Battle 1 ~ Battle 2 ~ Fanfare
05 Rose of May
06 Gulug Volcano
07 Airship Hildagarde
08 You’re Not Alone
09 Assault of the Silver Dragons ~ Dark Messenger ~ The Final Battle
10 Prelude

Thanks to FFNet for spotting this via VGMdb.